This is the "Home" page of the "Stone-Campbell Movement Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Stone-Campbell Movement Resources  

A resource guide for locating and using Stone-Campbell Movement resources in Glass Memorial Library.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.johnsonu.edu/Stone-Campbell Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Books

  • EBSCOhost eBook Collection
    The library's collection includes approximately 80 books published by Abilene Christian University Press (Church of Christ) and Chalice Press (Disciples of Christ).
  • Google Books
    Check Google Books for viewable content from books in the public domain (generally books published before 1923).
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches the same kinds of scholarly books, articles, and documents that you search in the library's catalog and databases. Google Scholar will not necessarily get you to the full text of every search result.
  • HeritageQuest
    Check this database for church histories and biographical sketches.
  • History of the Restoration Movement  
      
    Click on the "Books Out of Print" link for digital copies of books in the public domain.
  • Internet Archive
    Another good source for the full text of books in the public domain.
  • Library Catalog
    Use subject headings Restoration movement (Christianity), Christian Churches and Churches of Christ, Christian Churches (Disciples of Christ), Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Disciples of Christ, and Churches of Christ.
  • Restoration Movement Pages
    Includes full text of historical resources of interest to students and scholars of the Stone-Campbell movement.
 

Special Collections and Archives

The circulating collection contains reading copies of many of the publications in Special Collections. Please check the library catalog to see if circulating copies are available before requesting books from Special Collections. Reading copies of University publications are available in the Archives, including early catalogs, the Blue and White and other newsletters, and yearbooks from the 1940s to the present. Access to Special Collections and Archives is available M-F 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. and at other times by appointment. Please see the staff at the Service Desk to request access to these materials. Special Collections and Archive materials must be used in the library.

Archives and Special Collections Access Policy

Blue & White Index 1928-1977 - Log in with your Johnson University username and password for access to a searchable PDF. (We don't recommend printing the document due to its size.)

OAIster - Search open access digital archival material from more than 2,000 contributing institutions.

 

Background research


Cover Art
Dictionary of American History - Stanley I. Kutler (Editor)
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2002-12-11

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion in America - Charles H. Lippy; Peter W. Williams
ISBN: 9780872895805
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Covers significant North American denominations and movements.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of the New American Nation
ISBN: 0684313464
Publication Date: 2005-10-21
Covers the period between the American Revolution and the 1829 inauguration of Andrew Jackson.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of the Stone-Campbell Movement - Douglas A. Foster (Editor); Paul M. Blowers (Editor); Anthony L. Dunnavant (Editor); D. Newell Williams (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BX7321.3 .E53 2004 (2 copies; 1 copy on reserve)
ISBN: 0802838987
Publication Date: 2005-02-01

Cover Art
New Catholic Encyclopedia - Catholic University of America Staff
ISBN: 0787640042
Publication Date: 2002-09-13

Cover Art
Religions of the World - J. Gordon Melton (Editor); Martin Baumann (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598842036
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
"Provides comprehensive, global coverage of religion, emphasizing larger religious communities without neglecting the world's smaller religious outposts."

Cover Art
Renewal for Mission - W. Dennis Helsabeck
ISBN: 9780891128533
Publication Date: 2011-06-01


Cover Art
Renewing God's People - Gary Holloway; Douglas Foster
ISBN: 9780891120100
Publication Date: 2002-01-01

Reviving the Ancient Faith - Richard Hughes
ISBN: 9780891128557
Publication Date: 2011-06-01


Directories and Biographies

  • Churches of Christ by John T. Brown
    BX7315.B76
    A good source for biographical sketches.
  • Directory of the Ministry
    BX7307.D5
    1955-present
    The most recent volume is kept at the Service Desk.
  • History of the Restoration Movement  
      
    Website with biographical information.
  • Missionary Handbook of Direct-Support Missionaries of the Christian Church and Churches of Christ
    BX7307.M5
    1952-1960
  • Missionary Prayer List
    BX7307.M6
    1966-2006
  • Sketches of Our Mountain Pioneers
    BX7341.W4
  • Yearbook & Directory of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
    BX7307.Y4
    1902-1990
    There are some gaps in the library's holdings.

Subject Guide

Carrie Beth Lowe
Contact Info
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rick Bower
Contact Info
Part-time reference librarian. Stop by the library on Thursday evening 4:30-10:30, Saturday 10-5 or Sunday evening 5-10.
Send Email
 

Search Credo Reference

Credo Logo

 

Ask a librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip