CommentariesIntroductionsBiblical LanguagesBiblical TextsBible Background
This is the "Reference Sources" page of the "Biblical Studies and Theology Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biblical Studies and Theology Resources   Tags: biblical studies, periodicals, reference sources, theology  

Last Updated: Apr 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.johnsonu.edu/biblical_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Credo Reference Theology Collection

Credo Logo

 

Ask a librarian

 

Chat With a Librarian

 

Genenral Reference Works

Alexander, T. D., & Baker, D. W. (Eds.). (2002). Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press.

Atkinson, D. J., Field, D. F., Holmes, A. F., & O'Donovan, O. (2013). New dictionary of Christian ethics & pastoral theology. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic.

Atlas of the Bible. (1985). [England?]: Andromeda.

Balentine, S. E. (Ed.). (2014). The Oxford encyclopedia of the Bible and theology. New York: Oxford University Press.

Beale, G. K. (2012). Handbook on the New Testament use of the Old Testament: Exegesis and interpretation. Baker Academic.

Berenbaum, M., & Skolnik, F. (Eds.). (2007). Encyclopaedia Judaica (2nd ed.). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA.

Bill T., A., & Williiamson, H. G. M. (Eds.) (2005). Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press.

Blomberg, C., & Markley, J. (2010). A handbook of New Testament exegesis. Baker Academic.

Boda, M. J., & McConville, J. G. (2013). Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic.

Brownrigg, R. (2002). Who's who in the New Testament. London: Routledge.

Childress, J. F. (Ed.). (1986). Westminster dictionary of Christian ethics. Philadelphia: Westminster John Knox Press.

Cohn-Sherbok, L. (2002). Who's who in Christianity. London: Routledge.

Comay, J. (2002). Who's who in the Old Testament. London: Routledge.

Cross, F. L., & Livingstone, E. A. (Eds.). (2005). The Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd rev. ed.). Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Curtis, A., & May, H. G. (Eds.). (2007). Oxford Bible atlas. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Dyrness, W. A., & Kärkkäinen, V.-M. (Eds.). (2008). Global dictionary of theology. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity.

Elwell, W. A. (Ed.). (2001). Evangelical dictionary of theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Evans, C. S. (2010). Pocket dictionary of apologetics & philosophy of religion : 300 terms & thinkers clearly & concisely defined. Downers Grove IL: IVP Academic.

Evans, C. S., McGrath, G., & Campbell-Jack, W. C. (Eds.). (2006). New dictionary of Christian apologetics. Leicester, England: Inter-Varsity Press.

Feldmeth, N. P. (2010). Pocket dictionary of church history. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic.

Gorman, M. J. (2010). Elements of biblical exegesis: A basic guide for students and ministers. Baker Academic.

Green, J. B. (2011.) Dictionary of scripture and ethics. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Green, J. B., Brown, J. K., & Perrin, N. (Eds.). (2013). Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press.

Grenz, S. J., Nordling, C., & Guretzki, D. (1999). Pocket dictionary of theological terms. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press.

Hamilton, V. P. (2008). Handbook on the historical books : Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Samuel, Kings, Chronicles, Ezra-Nehemiah, Esther. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Baker Academic.

Harrison, W. H. (2008). Frequently-asked questions in Christian theology. London: Mowbray.

Hawthorne, G. F., & Martin, R. P. (Eds.). (1993). Dictionary of Paul and his letters. Downers Grove, Ill: IVP Academic.

Hays, J. D., & Duvall, J. S. (Eds.). (2011). The Baker illustrated Bible handbook. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books.

Hornak, K. (2008). Dictionary of the Bible : English-Spanish, Spanish-English = Diccionario De La Biblia: Castellano-Inglés, Inglés-Castellano. Horsham, Pa: Editorial Castilla La Vieja.

Jones, G. (Ed.). (2004). The Blackwell companion to modern theology. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub.

Jones, L. (Ed.). (2005). Encyclopedia of religion (2nd ed.). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA.

Longman, T., III, & Enns, P. (2010). Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, poetry & writings : A compendium of contemporary biblical scholarship. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic.

Mandryk, J. (2010). Operation world: The definitive prayer guide to every nation. [N.p.]: IVP Books.

Manser, M. H., Barratt, D., Lalleman, P. J., & Steinberg, J. (Eds.). (2009). Critical companion to the Bible : A literary reference. New York: Facts On File.

Martin, R. P., & Davids, P. H. (Eds.). (1997). Dictionary of the later New Testament & its developments. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic.

McEnhill, P., & Newlands, G. M. (2004). Fifty key Christian thinkers. London: Routledge.

McFarland, I. A., Fergusson, D. A. S., Kilby, K., & Torrance, I. R. (Eds.). (2011). The Cambridge dictionary of Christian theology. New York: Cambridge University Press.

McKim, D. K. (2014). The Westminster dictionary of theological terms. (2nd ed.). Louisville, Kentucky: Westminster John Knox Press.

Miller-McLemore, B. J. (Ed.). (2012). The Wiley-Blackwell companion to practical theology. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell.

Mudge, L. S., & Mannion, G. (Eds.). (2008). The Routledge companion to the Christian Church. New York: Routledge.

New Catholic encyclopedia. (2003). (2nd ed.). Detroit: Gale.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion.

Patzia, A. G., & Petrotta, A. J. (2002). Pocket dictionary of biblical studies. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press.

Pilch, J. J. (2012). A cultural handbook to the Bible. Grand Rapids, Mich: William B. Eerdmans Pub. Co.

Porter, S. E. (Ed.). (2007). Dictionary of biblical criticism and interpretation. London: Routledge.

Rogerson, J. W., & Lieu, J. (Eds.). (2006). Oxford handbook of biblical studies. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Ryken, L., Wilhoit, J. C., & Longman, T., III. (Eds.). (2010). Dictionary of biblical imagery. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic.

Selman, M. J., & Manser, M. H. (1998). The Macmillan dictionary of the Bible. London: Macmillan.

Soulen, R. N., & Soulen, R. (2011). Handbook of biblical criticism. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press.

Tate, W. (2012). Handbook for biblical interpretation: An essential guide to methods, terms, and concepts. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Taylor, M. A. (2012). Handbook of women biblical interpreters: A historical and biographical guide. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Thiselton, A. C. (2015). The Thiselton companion to Christian theology. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans.

Vanhoozer, K. J. (2005). Dictionary for theological interpretation of the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic.

Worth, R. H. (2008). Biblical studies on the Internet : A resource guide (2nd ed.). Jefferson, NC : McFarland.

Subject Guide

Carrie Beth Lowe
Contact Info
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rick Bower
Contact Info
Part-time reference librarian. Stop by the library on Thursday evening 4:30-10:30, Saturday 10-5 or Sunday evening 5-10.
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Marla Black
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip