This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Congregational Ministry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.johnsonu.edu/congregational_ministry Print Guide RSS Updates

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sermon Preparation Resources

  • Preaching Today
    A source for sermon illustrations, articles, and outlines.
  • LifeWay
    Find sermons, articles, and other useful resources for preachers.
  • Pastor Resources
    A site dedicated to providing resources and guidance to pastors, and connecting them with the tools they need.
 

Bible Background

Evans, C, A., & Porter, S. E. (Eds.). (2000). Dictionary of New Testament background. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press.

Gagarin, M. (Ed.). (2010). The Oxford encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Hornblower, S., & Spawforth, A. (Eds.). (2005). The Oxford classical dictionary (3rd rev. ed.). Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Keener, C. S. (2014). The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press.

McDonald, L., & Green, J. B. (2013). The World of the New Testament: Cultural, Social, and Historical Contexts. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic.

Redford, D. B. (Ed.). (2001). The Oxford encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Walton, J. H. (2006). Ancient Near Eastern thought and the Old Testament: Introducing the conceptual world of the Hebrew Bible. Baker Academic.

Walton, J. H., Chavalas, M. W., & Matthews, V. (2000). The IVP Bible background commentary: Old Testament. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press.

EBSCO Discovery Service

More Journals & Periodicals

  • Christian Standard
    A monthly publication that concentrates on matters within the Restoration Movement and its affiliate churches. The website contains issues from 2003 to present day.
  • Ministry Today
    A print and online magazine that serves leaders in the church that provides effective tools for ministry.
  • Preaching
    A magazine that provides preachers with insightful interviews, sermon illustrations, reviews of books and commentaries, and other valuable resources.
  • Christianity Today
    A publication provided to Christian readers across the United States. The library subscription contains issues from 1956 to present day. Limited online access can be found at www.christianitytoday.com.
  • Leadership
    A quarterly publication on church leadership containing articles, reviews, illustrations, and statistics for church leaders.
 

Biblical Languages

Danker, F. W., & Krug, K. (2009). The concise Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

Decker, R. J. (2014). Reading Koine Greek: An introduction and integrated workbook. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Baker Academic.

deClaissé-Walford, N. L. (2002). Biblical Hebrew : An Introductory Textbook. St. Louis, Mo: Chalice Press.

DeMoss, M. S. (2001). Pocket dictionary for the study of New Testament Greek. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press

Duff, J., & Wenham, J. W. (2005). Elements of New Testament Greek. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Ellis, R. R. (2006). Learning to read biblical Hebrew : An introductory grammar. Waco, Tex.: Baylor University Press.

Gignac, F. (1973). An introductory New Testament Greek course (Revised ed.). Washington, DC: Catholic University of America Press.

Guillemette, P. (1986). Greek New Testament analyzed: Le Nouveau Testament Grec analysâe = Anâalisis del Nuevo Testamento Griego = Analyse des Griechischen Neuen Testaments = Il Nuevo Testamento Greco analizzato. Kitchener, Ont.: Herald Press.

Hurvitz, A. (2014). A concise lexicon of late biblical Hebrew: Linguistic innovations in the writings of the Second Temple period. Boston: Brill.

Long, G. A. (2013). Grammatical concepts 101 for biblical Hebrew. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Baker Academic.

Moulton, W. F. , & Gedden, A. S. (Eds.). (2014). A concordance to the Greek New Testament. London: Bloomsbury T&T Clark.

Stevens, G. L. (2009). New Testament Greek primer. Cambridge, England: The Lutterworth Press.

 

Also see the Biblical Greek and Biblical Hebrew courses in Mango Languages.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip